Hokey Pokey

Discussion in 'Deutsch (German)' started by martyhalpern, Jun 22, 2006.

1. martyhalpern Member

San Jose, California
    English - USA

I'm an editor for a small independent publisher in the US (I'm actually located in Northern California) -- and I'm editing a story that uses some German, none of which I am familiar with. However, I want the German text to be as correct/accurate as possible.

The person in the story is singing part of the lyrics to the children's song "Hokey-Pokey" in German. I'll include below the German text from the story and would be most grateful if you would let me know if it makes sense, and if not, what the correct wording should be.

Man tut den Hokey-Pokey und man schuttelt ihn heraus....

Even if the text were correct, I suspect there are some missing diacritical marks, etc.

Thanks again for your time and assistance.
    Marty Halpern

2. MrMagoo

MrMagoo Senior Member

Westphalia, Germany
    Westphalia, Germany; German

Hello Marty,

I don't have any clue what a "Hokey-Pokey" is... ;)
    The missing diacritical sign is the two dots above "u" in "schüttelt".

"Man tut den Hokey-Pokey und man schüttelt ihn heraus" means:

"One does the Hokey-Pokey and one shakes it out (of something)" OR: "...and one shakes him out (of something)" ---> This depends on the context:

"ihn" is the personal pronoun (accusative case) for a masculine noun. "Hokey-Pokey" seems to be a dance or something equal; if so, it is certainly masculine (= "der" Tanz => the dance; "der" = masc. definite article)- in this case.

"ihn" can refer back to "Hokey-Pokey", so it would mean something like "If you do the Hokey-Pokey, you shake the Hokey-Pokey out (of something)".