1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

How was your trip?

Discussion in 'Polski (Polish)' started by RockGuitarizt, Jun 2, 2013.

1. RockGuitarizt Senior Member

English - USA
    Dzien dobry!

I've recently started learning Polish (yesterday) and I'm trying to wrap my head around all of the declensions and cases. I understand case structure pretty well (I studied latin for a year, and I learned fluent German) but the declensions are really a struggle for me.

If I wanted ask someone "How was your trip?", is 'trip' still nominative? Also, would it matter to use jak or jaki/jaka/jakie?

my attempt:

jaka była twója podróż?

similarly, when an object in the accusative is involved, what happens to "twój" as in

Chcę jeść twój jedzenie. or Widzę twója brata. (sorry for these overly-simple sentences. I don't know many words.)

I found a chart that said the accusative masculine is "twójego" so I can't figure out if the endings match the nouns' endings or if the possessive pronouns have their own personal set of declensions.

z góry dzękuję bardzo.

-Ian

2. BezierCurve Senior Member

Hi RockGuitarizt,

that's a very good attempt.

In fact "jaka była twoja podróż" (with the "ó" changing into "o" in "twoja") is grammatically correct, however, if you want to sound more natural you can say simply:

"Jak podróż?"

or

"Jak upłynęła ci podóż?" = "how did the trip go?".

EDIT: In all examples "podróż" is in nominative case.

Possessive pronouns usually take the endings of adjectives in similar cases (so, yes, it's more like their own endings as compared to nouns; they have little in common).

In accusative there is also another important factor - is the noun animate or personal vs. inanimate (or treated as such)?

In your examples:

Chcę jeść twoje jedzenie. [jedzenie > neuter noun, behaves as if it was nominative]

Widzę twojego brata. [brat > masculine personal noun, ending similar to genitive]

compare to: