1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

I don't know half of you half as well as I should like; and I like less than half of you half as well as you deserve.

Discussion in 'English Only' started by . 1, Feb 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. . 1 Senior Member

Ferntree Gully
    Australian Australia
    G'day Englishista@s

Would anybody care to offer an opinion of the meaning of this immortal line by TOLKIEN.

I don't know half of you half as well as I should like; and I like less than half of you half as well as you deserve.

It has puzzled me for about thirty years.

Please do not post links to an opinion by someone I have never heard of. I am interested in the opinion of people I have some knowledge about. Links to Wikipedia and quotations pages and such are useless to me because those places have not been peer reviewed by my peers but Word Reference is savagely peer reviewed and stuff and nonsense are soon revealed.

2. Siberia

Siberia Sibermod

UK-Wales - English
    For me it means that he doesn't know him very well and what he does know he doesn't like but he's not particularly concerned about getting to know him (hence - as well as you deserve).
    But this could be rubbish. So don't take any notice.

3. Joelline

Joelline Senior Member

USA (W. Pennsylvania)
    American English
    I'll take a stab at a paraphrase:
    I know less than 50% of you half as well as I should like to know you; and I like less than 50% of you half as well as you deserve to be iked.

Personally, I would have used "fewer" rather than "half," but in this quotation, grammar must give way to art!

I always assumed Tolkien was speaking to a large group of people and not to an individual!

4. . 1 Senior Member

Ferntree Gully
    Australian Australia
    I must remember to use Tolkien next time the fewer than less discussion lowers it's head;) .

You are spot on. It was his Eleventy First Birthday Party.

5. Joelline