I have worked / I have been working

Discussion in 'English Only' started by marinesea, Sep 5, 2005.

1. marinesea Senior Member

Hello, everybody,

Is there a difference between these two sentences:

I have worked here since 1999, and
    I have been working here since 1999.

I would also appreciate if somebody could explain me the differenece between using Present Perfect and Present Perfect Continuous on the whole.

Thank you :)

2. shadow link New Member

Australia - english
    Hi marinesea

Basically no, there isn't a difference.

3. Saurabh Senior Member

New Delhi City
    India-English & Hindi

Hello,

Well, there is a difference for sure.
    Present Perfect Tense(PPT) shows that the activity is completed. It shows only the completion of activity irrespective of a particular time, ofcourse in present though.
    On the contrary Present Perfect Continuous Tense(PPCT) is a sum of Perfect as well as Continuous tense. So, it shows that the activity is still in process and has begun from a particular point/period of time. So, it is simply a continuous tense but with an addition to TIME in it.

If ,for example, we say that " She is reading this comic". It will simply mean she is still on reading that comic, time is not here known though. However, If I were to tell the time also here, it would be said as" She has been reading this comic since morning". or "She has been reading this comic for last two hours."

On the other hand application of perfect tense will simply imply that the activity she was on, is through/over as of now. Usage of PPT here, will be read as "She has read this comic".
    I hope it helps.
    Cheers,
    Saurabh

Last edited: Jun 15, 2009
  4. Skin Senior Member

Italian

Saurabh, I'm afraid I have to disagree.
    Both sentences mean the same thing: the action of working started at some specified point in the past and is still going on today.