1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

I hope this email finds you well

Discussion in 'English Only' started by martin_baires07, Mar 3, 2013.

1. martin_baires07 Senior Member

Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Argentinean Spanish
    Hi everybody!

I'm a native speaker of Spanish, but I use English for my work most of the time. I'm a lawyer.

I have seen many partners in the law firm where I work starting emails with the expression "I HOPE THIS EMAIL FINDS YOU WELL" (they also use it in Spanish, literally translated from English, which sounds really odd).

I would like to know if:

a) Such expression is commonly or regularly used in English.

b) English speakers tend to like or dislike such expression (some have told me they find it particularly irritating).

c) There are other equivalent expressions (bearing in mind that they are used in the context of business emails, as a way of sounding friendly).

Thank you very much!!

Last edited: Mar 3, 2013
  2. heypresto

heypresto Senior Member

South East England
    English - England
    To me, the expression sounds a little dated, but that's OK with me. i can imagine it sounding a bit odd, and perhaps also irritating to some others, though.

As an alternative, how about simply 'I hope you are well'. Or even simpler, omit it altogether. This would probably be the preference of the many people who keep the content of emails to the barest minimum and avoid introductions and sign-offs altogether.

3. Copyright

Copyright Senior Member

Penang
    American English
    Hopefully they don't capitalize it every time. :rolleyes: