I play (to) football

Discussion in 'Spanish-English Grammar / Gramática Español-Inglés' started by nanox87, Jan 13, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nanox87 Junior Member

español
    Se que será una pregunta estúpida pero ¿que diferencia hay cuando se dice por ejemplo:

* I play football.
    * I play to football.

En teoría quiere decir juego al fútbol pero ¿Qué diferencia hay entre los dos? .
    ¿ En que situaciones se podría emplear el play to y en cuales el to play?. Agradecería las explicaciones en español, puesto que soy principiante, gracias de antemano.

Last edited: Jan 13, 2012
  2. chamyto

chamyto Senior Member

Burgos, Spain
    Spanish
    Hola, la segunda opción es errónea y el "to" está mal, puesto que el verbo like rige infinitivo con to o gerundio. ¿La has visto en algún contexto?

3. gengo

gengo Senior Member

Chamyto is right, the second one is impossible. Remember that English verb infinitives consist of "to" + the base form of the verb. So, jugar = to play.

You could say "I like to dance to salsa music." Here, "to dance" is the infinitive (bailar), and the second "to" is a preposition.

I see that you have just edited your post, which changes your question completely. The verb play takes a noun without any preposition.

I play football/baseball/tennis/chess/etc.

Last edited: Jan 14, 2012
  4. nanox87 Junior Member

español
    Perdón perdón ya lo edite se me olvidaba que después de like va gerundio es cierto, pero sigo teniendo la duda, en que ocasiones se puede utilizar to play , y en cuales play to ? . Las frases solo eran un ejemplo, en principio me gustaría saber en que ocasiones puedo utilizar un (to play )u otro verbo, y en cuales el (play to) u otro cual sea.

5. gengo

gengo Senior Member

Here is the key: In "to play" the "to" is not a preposition, it is part of the verb. Think of it as toplay. In "play to" the "to" is not part of the verb, and is a preposition that goes with whatever noun follows it.