I wish I had a car.

Discussion in 'العربية (Arabic)' started by jmt356, Jan 25, 2013.

1. jmt356 Senior Member

I am not sure whether to use the active imperfect or the active subjunctive and whether أنْ or أنَّ is appropriate.

Suggestions:

In the active imperfect:
    أتمنى أن كنت عندي سيارةً
    or using أنَّ:
    أتمنى أني كنت عندي سيارةً

In the active subjuctive:
    أتمنى أن أكُونَ عندي سيارةً
    or using أنَّ:
    أتمنى أنّي أكُونَ عندي سيارةً

Last edited: Jan 25, 2013
  2. Haroon Senior Member

C A I R O
    Arabic-Egypt
    Dear jmt36; I am not good at grammatical titles (active imperfect and active subjunctive)
    However, To say I wish I had a car:
    اتمنى لو إنّ عندي سيارة
    (أتمنى لو كان معي سيارة (الآن
    (اتمنى لو كانت معي سيارة - (الآن
    (اتمنى لو كنت أملك سيارة (الآن ​
    You may use (الآن) to denote that your wish is at present time as the same phrase may express a wish in the past.
    As for أتمنى أني أكون , it is not correct.

3. إسكندراني

إسكندراني Senior Member

أرض الأنجل
    عربي (مصر)ـ | en (gb)
    *لو (أنّ) عندي certainly that's what they use in MSA

4. clevermizo Moderator

St. Louis, MO
    English (USA), Spanish
    What about just ليت عندي سيارة?

5. إسكندراني

إسكندراني Senior Member

أرض الأنجل
    عربي (مصر)ـ | en (gb)
    Of course the sentences are unidiomatic - I think they were just to illustrate a point for him.
    Clevermizo's suggestion is good.
    Or كم أتمنى لو عندي سيارة
    Or كم أتمنى لو تكون لي سيارة

6. jmt356 Senior Member

1. Is ليت / يا ليت colloquial? Is the ل turned into a ر in Syria (i.e.¸ يا ريت)?

2. Haroon uses the formulation لو إنّ, but إسكندراني uses the formation لو أنّ. Which is it?