1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

Icelandic: perfect continuous

Discussion in 'Nordic Languages' started by AatM, Apr 25, 2013.

1. AatM Senior Member

England
    English
    Hi guys,

Does Icelandic make a distinction in the perfect continuous between an action that has been done at intervals and a continuous action? I know that in English there is no real way of expressing that the action has not stopped without the use of an adverb, such as "I've been studying constantly since this morning", which cannot really be differentiated from "I've studied constantly since this morning". However, it is possible to take these two structures and use them with a time frame suggesting an action that has taken place (not all in one go) over a longer period: e.g. "I've been studying Icelandic for three months.". I know that saying it using a continuous form in Italian "Sto studiando da due anni" would suggest that you've been studying for two years solidly, which is obviously somewhat unlikely, whereas "Studio da due anni." (with the simple conjugated form in the present) is more akin to the English idea of its having been an action with breaks. So my question would be whether Icelandic has a similar distinction or whether it is more like the English where it is the context that provides information about the nature of the action? (Sorry for using Italian, it was the best way I could think of to illustrate my point!)

Takk.

Last edited: Apr 25, 2013
  2. Alxmrphi Senior Member

Reykjavík, Ísland
    UK English
    It's like English more than Italian (though the Italian example does seem very forced).