1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

if i studied hard (imperfecto de subjuntivo o de indicativo)

Discussion in 'Spanish-English Grammar / Gramática Español-Inglés' started by drewbles83, Dec 3, 2013.

1. drewbles83 New Member

Norfolk, VA
    English
    I'm having a hard time translating this sentence:

My teacher said that if I studied hard I could get into the academy.
    Mi maestra me dijo que si estudiara mucho, podría entrar en la academia.

I'm concerned with the conjugation of the verb 'estudiar'. If it isn't 'estudiara', what should it be and why?

2. chamyto

chamyto Senior Member

Burgos, Spain
    Spanish
    Hello, your attempt is perfect. Nothing to change.

By the way, welcome to the forum

3. drewbles83 New Member

Norfolk, VA
    English
    Thanks! My native speaker friend was telling me that it should be 'estudiaba', but I couldn't make sense of why that would be a good option.

4. donbill

donbill Senior Member / Moderator

South Carolina / USA
    English - American
    As chamyto points out, your attempt is right on target. But take look at the following sentences.

a. If I study hard, I get good grades. = Si estudio mucho, saco buenas notas. (It's always that way.)
    b. If I studied hard, I got good grades. = Si estudiaba mucho, sacaba buenas notas. (It always happened.)
    c. If I studied hard, I would get good grades. = Si estudiara mucho, sacaría buenas notas. (I don't study hard!)

Sentences a and b rule nothing out. They simply present a given situation and the outcome. Sentence c, on the other hand, depicts a situation that is contrary to reality: I don't study hard, but if I did, I'd get good grades.
    Si-clauses can be confusing for us because we use the same past tense form in sentences like b and c, and it's only the second clause that tells what the function of the verb is. It's a lot clearer in Spanish, ¿no?

And I join chamyto in welcoming you to the forum. It's a great place to learn.