1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)
  1. summer8875 New Member

China
    chinese
    I am a primary school English teacher in China. On this Friday one of my studens asked me how to distinguish the two prepositions "in" and "into".
    I find it difficult for me to tell the slight differences between them.
    What is the differece between these two words?
    Who can help me?
    Thank you!

2. sound shift Senior Member

Derby (central England)
    English - England
    The difference is not slight.

"Into" implies "from outside to inside" or "from one state to another".
    He ran into the kitchen: When he started running he was not in the kitchen, but he entered the kitchen running.

I'm going to convert the bedroom into an office: From one state (bedroom) to another (office).

Please translate this into Swahili: From one state (English) to another (Swahili).

3. reganse Senior Member

Houston, Texas
    English – U.S.
    Into means to "go inside" of something. i.e. Get into the house, right now!
    In is more "generic" or generalized. i.e. I like to walk in the rain.

More examples:
    She is involved in a crime. (not into, in this context)
    I can't get in the door; it's locked. (not into, in this context) If you said, "I can't get into the door," it would mean that you were trying to get inside of the physical door itself.

Many times you can use either preposition.

4. summer8875 New Member

China
    chinese

thank you~~~:)

5. summer8875 New Member

China
    chinese

thanks~~

6. sabretoof

sabretoof Senior Member

English - Australia
    I think that the idea is that into, onto and to means movement. On the other hand, in, on and at is about your current place.