In vs. Im

Discussion in 'Deutsch (German)' started by sn3, Dec 3, 2005.

1. sn3 New Member

United States - English
    I am a German I student and I have a question about the use of in and im. I was going to ask my teacher but she was out the day I was going to ask. I have a project due in a few days (I won't see her until the project is due) and I was wondering if anyone can help me. When do you use in and when do you use im? For example, would it be:
    Ich wohne im mein Traumhaus im Winter, Herbst, Sommer, und Frühling.
    Ich wohne in mein Traumhaus im Winter, Herbst, Sommer, und Frühling.
    How do you know when to use im and when to use in?
    Another example:
    Der Wandschrank ist groß und ist im das Badezimmer.
    Der Wandschrank ist groß und ist im das Badezimmer.
    Thanks for your help!
  2. Whodunit

Whodunit Senior Member

Deutschland ~ Deutsch/Sächsisch

The word "im" is a compound of "in" and "dem", because every time you want to use "in" plus the masculine or neuter definite article, you need to merge these two words:

Ich bin in dem Haus = Ich bin im Haus.

"im" and "dem" don't match, because that would mean "in dem dem". You see? :)

It's actually like in French and Spanish: "de" and "le" usually merge to "du", "de" and "les" become "des". In Spanish we only have "a" and "el" getting "al". There's a dozen of languages using these mergences, among those German.

in + dem = im
    in + das = ins
    bei + dem = beim
    zu + dem = zum
    zu + der = zur

We simply apply the aforementioned rule. ;)

The verbose version would be "... und ist in dem Badezimmer" (you need the dative case here, because it describes a location). Using "in das Badezimmer" would imply a direction as in:

Dative: Ich bin in dem (= im) Badezimmer. (I'm [being] in the bathroom)
    Accusative: Ich gehe in das (= ins) Badezimmer. (I'm going into the bathroom.)
  3. sn3 New Member

United States - English
    Thanks! That makes sense. :)