1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

Indonesian Affixes

Discussion in 'Other Languages' started by bart150, Apr 4, 2013.

1. bart150 New Member

Netherlands / West Java
    British English
    I’m studying the way affixes work in Indonesian. Here, just as an example, is a set of words from the dictionary, that are all based on the root ‘tanya’, to ask (arranged in a sequence to make the differences of meaning as clear as possible).

ber+root - bertanya
    to ask a specific question; eg he asked how old her husband was

ber+root-root - bertanya-tanya
    (1) to ask a specific question repeatedly; eg he asked again and again how old her husband was but he got no answer
    (2) to wonder (ie to ask oneself repeatedly); he wondered how old her husband was

root - tanya
    to ask a question or a few questions about one relatively small-scale topic as opposed to asking a specific question; eg he asked how her husband was getting on

men+root - menanya
    same meaning as tanya

men+root+kan - menanyakan
    to ask a series of questions about a relatively large-scale topic; eg he asked her about the history of the Sultanate of Sumedang

memper+root+kan - mempertanyakan
    to ask a series of questions about a relatively large-scale topic in a sceptical way; eg he questioned her about how she expected the new shop to make a profit

men+root+i - menanyai
    to ask a series of questions about a relatively large-scale topic in an, intensive, aggressive way; eg the police interrogated her about her husband’s death

This is my interpretation of the explanation and examples that I found in the dictionary. I would be extremely grateful to any knowledgeable speaker of Indonesian or Malaysian who was kind enough to examine whether I have got the different meanings right.

2. xavierxavier New Member

Singapore
    Indonesian, English