1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

"Inverted" sentence? [before going to sleep is the time ....]

Discussion in 'English Only' started by 8769, Jan 3, 2008.

1. 8769 Senior Member

Japanese and Japan
    The following is one of the model sentences I have found in a writing/composition textbook now in use for high school students in Japan.

Just before going to sleep is the time when I enjoy reading the most.

I am wondering if it is grammatically correct to take a prepositional phrase like “just before going to sleep” as the subject of a sentence. When I was a student, I was taught that the subject of a sentence should be a noun equivalent.

Or is the sentence above an “inverted” sentence?

Any comment would be appreciated.

2. mjscott Senior Member

It is an inverted sentence.

I enjoy reading the most just before going to sleep.

3. Forero Senior Member

Houston, Texas, USA
    USA English
    Carefully is how I might answer your question, 8769. An adverb can be a subject, but only of a linking verb. So the subject of

Just before going to sleep is the time when I enjoy reading the most.

is the prepositional phrase, but the subject of

Just before going to sleep comes the time when I enjoy reading the most.

is the time when I enjoy reading the most.

I hope this helps.

4. 8769 Senior Member

Japanese and Japan
    Thank you, mjscott.

Do I understand then that you mean #2 below is grammatically correct, while #1 is not?

1. Just before going to sleep and while comingi back from work on the train are the time when I enjoy reading the most.
    2. Just before going to sleep and while comingi back from work on the train is the time when I enjoy reading the most.

5. 8769 Senior Member

Japanese and Japan
    Thank you, Forero.
    Do I understand then that you mean #1 below is grammatically correct, while #2 is not?