Is there another way to say "My major is ....."

Discussion in 'English Only' started by roniy, Mar 2, 2006.

1. roniy Senior Member

Brooklyn NY
    ISRAEL: Fluent Hebrew ( Speak Russian, Learning English)
    I have heared another way to say that but I can't recall how

Does anyone know what I mean ???

Thanks.

2. En bons termes Member

Canada French
    "I'm majoring in", maybe?

3. roniy Senior Member

Brooklyn NY
    ISRAEL: Fluent Hebrew ( Speak Russian, Learning English)
    ohhh probably that ....
    Thanks alot

4. nycphotography

nycphotography Senior Member

I do be learnin stuff
    John-Paul Miller, NYC
    I'm working towards a <degree name> degree.
    I'm studying <field>.

5. elroy

elroy Motley mod

Chicago, IL
    US English/Palestinian Arabic bilingual
    My concentration is...
    I am concentrating in...
    My specialization is...
    I am specializing in...

6. DAH

DAH Senior Member

Los Angeles
    USA/California--English
    Might say: I'm earning a Bachelor of Arts degree in philosophy. I'm working towards a Bachelor of Science degree in mechanical engineering.

Or if you are in graduate school: I'm working towards a Master of Arts degree in History, with a specialization in early-modern European history.

7. nycphotography

nycphotography Senior Member

I do be learnin stuff
    John-Paul Miller, NYC
    Would anyone actually say "of arts" or "of science"? In spoken language, it might seem somehwhat stuffy or pretentious? And I think many people would omit the "bachelor's" too. Unless it's a Masters or PhD, we (AE) tend to assume a 4 year bachelor's degree.

I'm earning a Bachelor of Arts degree in philosophy. I'm working towards a Bachelor of Science degree in mechanical engineering.

Although many people WOULD say:

I'm working towards a BSME, especially to other students or colleagues who would know what a BSME means.

8. Nervren New Member

Greek - Greece