1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

Képzelhetni

Discussion in 'Magyar (Hungarian)' started by NagyKiss, Apr 24, 2013.

1. NagyKiss Senior Member

"Képzelhetni, hogy meghökkent az öreg Rézorr mester".

In languages I know when you say "Imagine..." it is always imperative, here an infinitive is used. Is this how it works in Hungarian with this verb? Could imperative be used?

2. Encolpius

Encolpius Senior Member

Prague
    Hungarian
    Hello, it is a typo, the correct version is: képzelheti i.e. you can imagine. Good luck. Enc.

3. NagyKiss Senior Member

Wow, thanks.

4. tomtombp Senior Member

Hungarian
    "Képzelheti", is not an infinitive but as Encolpius said, the "you can imagine" way of usage (I'm not good at grammar terminology, sorry) of the verb "képzelni" in "Magázó" mód. In "Tegező" mód it would be "képzelheted."
    Since there are no "tegező" and "magázó" modes in English I don't think there are any English words for them either, but there should be some workaround to express them, I wonder what the most experienced forum members call them.

5. tomtombp Senior Member

Hungarian
    By the way, imperative can also be used in Hugarian too, with a slightly different meaning: "Képzelje el..." (magázó mód) and "Képzeld el..." (tegező mód). You can even add "just": "Képzelje csak el"/"Képzeld csak el". Don't ask me about the differences in meaning. I think they are quite subtle. I'd better leave it to others to explain them, if you're interested.

6. francisgranada Senior Member

Slovakia
    Hungarian
    I don't think that this is a typo. See for example the following (from Mikszáth Kálmán):
    Képzelhetni bosszúságomat, míg nem végre belenyugodtam a dologba, úgy vettem azt, mint egy sorsdrámát.

Or an other example about Pinocchio (found also on the internet):
    Képzelhetni, hogy sírt, jajgatott, óbégatott a boldogtalan Pinokkió a csapdában.