k, p, t - aspirated or unaspirated?

Discussion in 'Polski (Polish)' started by Jianfeng, Aug 17, 2009.

1. Jianfeng Junior Member

Are they pronounced like k,t,p in Deutsch(aspirated) or in Francais(unaspirated)? Thanks.
  2. Anatoli Senior Member

Melbourne, Australia
    Native: русский (Russian), home country: English
    They are unaspirated, like in French. I am not sure if any Slavic language has aspirated consonants.
  3. kknd Senior Member

Polska / Poland
    polski / Polish
    I'll try not to trick you: I think there are but as some kind of 'approximants', ie. pchać (to push), where p seems to be aspirated because of following ch. I'm more not sure of that: you can treat pch as aspirated p, but as stated above, lone p (or any other consonant) is not aspirated.
  4. audiolaik

audiolaik Senior Member

I'm not an expert on the issue you're asking about, but after repeating the sounds several times, in different contexts, I think they are not. It seems to me that kkd hit the nail on the head: The sounds that follow, for example, "p" might add a certain amount of air. However, it could be misleading, due to the amount of alcohol in my veins.:D
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2009
  5. Thomas1

Thomas1 Senior Member

polszczyzna warszawska
    They generally become aspirated before a vowel or an aspirated consonant due to the process called regressive assimilation (in Polish: upodobnienie wsteczne, asymilacja).

EDIT: please see below for explanation.
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2009
  6. jemp New Member

Hello Jianfeng,

Polish stops are unaspirated. Though a minor qualification can be made here – some speakers of Polish do occasionally use aspiration (in stressed syllables) for emphasis. But this usage is not very frequent, I think.