1. silmov New Member

USA english
    I am an American composer (of music). I used a theme of Couperin on which to base a concerto that was premiered a long ime ago, but continues to be performed. The Couperin theme was taken from a clavier piece entitled "La Bandoline."

Periodically I'm asked for the meaning of the title, and I have no idea. Yesterday, a virtuoso soloist in Taiwan asked me for that information.
    So, finally, I've set out to research its meaning. The web has provided little help. One definition that comes up is: a thick pomade for the hair.
    I absolutely cannot imagine that anything like that could have induced Couperin to write such a delicate melody. I'm inclined to wonder whether he could have been inspired by some form of stringed instrument?

I'd be most appreciative for any clarification.
  2. Karl K Junior Member

Quebec City
    Bandoline appears to be the French rendition of the name of a musical instrument of Brazilian origin, described as a small four-string guitar, probably named Bandolino. I have seen this word used as such in a French novel set in South America but I don't think it's officially accepted as a word in French.
  3. valerie Senior Member

France, French & Spanish
    Yes, but would Couperin know this brazilian instrument?

Here is what I found, looking on the web in spanish language for 'bandolina'

·(Del lat. pandura, 'guitarra de tres cuerdas'); sust. f.
    1.Bandolina, instrumento musical: dejó apoyada la bandola en la bandola del barco.
    Bandolín, bandolina, bandurria

· (De bandola); sust. m. diminutivo.
    1.Bandola pequeña, instrumento musical similar a la bandurria: es importante coger bien el bandolín antes de empezar a tocarlo.
    - Instrumento musical similar a una bandurria pequeña. Se toca, como ésta, con una púa de pluma o de concha.

u (Del fr. bandoline, y éste del it. bandolino); sust. f.