La direction de la société

Discussion in 'French-English Vocabulary / Vocabulaire Français-Anglais' started by Petite_Jen, Jun 25, 2013.

1. Petite_Jen Junior Member

Hello everyone,

I'm new in translating law contracts and I've come across this term "La direction de la société" that I've been finding hard to replicate into a coherent english.
    The nearest I came to was "the company's head office management/headquarters"... I've tried to take into consideration the "siège social" since this is where this sector of a company is found.

Here is the context:

En application des dispositions de l'article L. 1321-1 du code du travail et en vertu de son pouvoir réglementaire général et collectif, la direction de la société......... fixe ci-après:

In accordance with the provisions of article L 1321-1 of the employment law and under its collective and general regulatory power, the company's head office management......... establishes hereinafter:

Would be extremely grateful for any ideas!
  2. amg8989 Senior Member

English-United Sates

Could you give more context following 'la direction de la société' ....

Some ideas based upon what you included:

company's mandate
    company's approach
    company's stance
    company's course of action
    company protocol

I don't believe it's related to the headquarters. Direction in this context would be more like a company's mission or leadership, but like I said, more context would greatly help.

Good luck!
  3. Petite_Jen Junior Member

Good afternoon Amg8989,

Thank-you for your participation!
    The following is all I have to work with in terms of context.
    I know where you are coming from when you suggest "company's mission/ leadership" but you see, i do believe it's related to the head-office, since this translation is in the form of a contract, the dotted line is host to the name of "la direction de la société" which proceeds to set down its regulations.