Latin/Italian: How similar are they?

Discussion in 'Lingua Latina (Latin)' started by Alwaysconfused, Oct 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Alwaysconfused Junior Member

NJ
    English, US.
    I keep hearing that these two languages are very similar...
    -but just how similar are they really?

:)
    -G.

2. MidlandsMezzo New Member

English (UK) United Kingdom
    Hi

Not so similar that modern Italians would find ancient Latin easy to understand. I have some knowledge of both languages as I studied Latin to final school exam level and have a working knowledge of colloquial Italian.

The similarity is mostly in the roots of words - if you know the Latin word it sometimes makes it possible to have a good guess at what the modern Italian word means.

One of the peculiarities of Latin is that there are no words equivalent to a or the and that the verb often comes at the end of a sentence. The words are also inflected, which means that the nominative, dative, accusative and genitive cases have special word endings which indicate the meaning. In effect, this means that fewer words are required in Latin to express what would make for a longer sentence in Italian or English. In modern Italian words are inflected to show singular and plural and genders.

English has many words with roots from Latin and also from Germanic languages and Norman French.

Hope this is of some help to you.

Regards

MidlandsMezzo

3. Etcetera

Etcetera Senior Member

St Petersburg, Russia
    Russian, Russia (St Petersburg)
    I used to study Latin in my first year at the University, and I am studying Italian currently, though very slowly. :) And to me the languages seem to be pretty similar: very often I can guess the meaning of a word just because it looks like a similar Latin word. But the grammar structures of the languages differes a lot.

4. Alwaysconfused Junior Member

NJ
    English, US.
    Ah, okay.
    That's pretty sweet! Thanks to both!
    -G