le SUJET d'un examen

Discussion in 'French-English Vocabulary / Vocabulaire Français-Anglais' started by OlafPopkin, Mar 30, 2007.

1. OlafPopkin

OlafPopkin Senior Member

French, France
    Hello,
    I'm a teacher and I would like to translate 'Sujet' into English. In this sentence : 'Vous avez plusieurs sujets au choix'. In this context : Each student will have to choose one 'Sujet' (problem, exercice) and deal with it during the practical session.
    Would 'Subject' fit ?
    Thanks

2. frenchfanatic Junior Member

England
    England, English
    Bonjour

No "subject" is used to mean "matière" (eg français, anglais etc) if it's just a problem/exercise we would say "problem" or "exercise" or maybe "activity".

Hope this helps! :)

3. joleen

joleen Senior Member

England
    french / france
    I'd say "topic" but it might be different according to the module: science etc...

4. Jean-Michel Carrère Senior Member

French from France
    "You will have a choice of essay questions" may apply.

We need further context in order to help you more (which subject are we talking about ? What type of "sujet" are we talking about ?)

5. OlafPopkin

OlafPopkin Senior Member

French, France
    It's during practical sessions in Artificial Intelligence.
    There are several 'exercices'. (with Neural networks, ESS, Lisp, Prolog...) They have to choose one that becomes their assignment. They will work on it and then write a report to get a mark.
    In french, we could say, 'problème' 'exercice', mais le mot le plus utilisé est vraiment 'sujet'.
    I guess that 'exercise' is not so bad...

6. joleen

joleen Senior Member

England
    french / france
    I would say "topic" if it's about studying something and writing reports about it.

7. frenchfanatic Junior Member

England
    England, English
    Maybe you could say "assignment topics" specifically for this example as it seems to be more than just an exercise.