Like + ing like+to: still a shade of meaning?

Discussion in 'English Only' started by Lavernock, May 28, 2011.

1. Lavernock Senior Member

Spain
    wales English
    I know that English and US American usage differs here. I always use "like +ing" when I mean that something causes me pleasure.

I like eating in restaurants. (makes me happy)

But I use "like+to" to talk about something I do which is convenient or generally a sensible idea. But don't necessarily like.

I like to go to the dentist twice a year. I dislike going to the dentist but wish to conserve my teeth.

I like to do the housework in the morning. I get it out of the way and can do other things after lunch.

I like to get up at five in the morning and go for a ten mile run. I dislike getting up early and hate running, but I'm a diabetic and it does wonders for my blood sugar.

I teach English for a living and have seen that many modern textbooks now claim that these two forms are both correct and interchangable. If this is really so, haven't we done away with what I consider to be an important shade of meaning?

2. scrotgrot Senior Member

English - English
    I can't think of another way you would convey that. I think the difference between the two uses of like to are differentiated by tone, if I actually liked doing something I'd pick out like with a higher tone, if I didn't I'd sort of skip over it almost.

3. Loob

Loob Senior Member

English UK
    Hello Lavernock

There are quite a few previous threads on like to vs like -ING: here are just some of them

Gerund, infinitive: I <enjoy, like, love> <eating, to eat> pizza.
    Gerund, infinitive: I <like, love, hate> + <gerund, infinitive>?
    Gerund, infinitive: I don't like <using, to use> artificial flavour enhancers ...
    Gerund, infinitive: I like <cooking, to cook>.
    Gerund, infinitive: I like <going, to go> ...
    Gerund, infinitive: I like <going, to go> to the beach.