1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

lo sbaglio - plural

Discussion in 'Italian-English' started by Laydhee, Feb 20, 2007.

1. Laydhee New Member

hong kong, cantonese
    Hello! Well, this is my first time learning Italian and I just love the language and culture a lot though there are so many things to consider before one can master it perfectly.

Well, I was revising my italian textbook when a question striked me and I am left in a haze. Here it goes:

The rule: to change a singular masculin noun to its plural form, one may change the definate article e.g. (lo) to gli , right? But what about if the noun goes by : lo sbaglio , then can one change it to "gli sbaglii"? This I have learnt from the book which said that masculin nouns ending in o will be changed to i. But in this case, can 2 ii in the example above still be valid?

I will deeply appreciate if someone can sort this mess out for me.Thanks

2. Necsus

Necsus Senior Member

Formello (Rome)
    Italian (Italy)
    Hi, Laydhee, welcome to the WRF!
    The plural of nouns that end with -io is -ii only when they have the 'i' tonic (pendio, pendii; fruscio, fruscii), not when the 'i' is atonic (cucchiaio, cucchiai; fastidio, fastidi).

PS: please, remember to put the precise subject of your question in the subject line.

3. Einstein

Einstein Senior Member

Milano, Italia
    UK, English
    What about the plural of "principio"? Nowadays it's spelt "princìpi", to distinguish from the plural of "principe", but in older books I've seen "principii".

This is an exception; I don't want to confuse Laydhee!

4. Necsus

Necsus Senior Member

Formello (Rome)
    Italian (Italy)