1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

Me preocupa, me alegra - verb forms

Discussion in 'Spanish-English Grammar / Gramática Español-Inglés' started by al.magnus, Oct 9, 2009.

1. al.magnus New Member

Mississippi, US
    English - America
    Greetings -

I am a Spanish teacher and am wondering why the subjunctive is used as in the cases underlined below:

Me preocupa que Paula no apoye a Marcos.
    I am worried that Paula does not support Mark.

Me alegra siempre poder contar con Susana.
    I am happy to always be able to count on Susana.

I understand why the subjuntive is used the in the dependant clause ("apoye," and "poder"), but why is it used in the first?

Thank you,
    al.magnus

2. M.TERESA

M.TERESA Senior Member

Spain
    SPANISH-SPAIN
    puedes utilizarlo al principio o al final, si aparece al principio es para enfatizar, o resaltar, lo más importante.
    lo importante no es contar con Susana, lo importante es lo que me ALEGRA contar con Susana

3. al.magnus New Member

Mississippi, US
    English - America
    Okay, I understand that it adds emphasis, but I was always taught that the subjunctive is rarely, if ever, used in the independant clause. Why is it used there in this case? Aren't I sure that I am genuinely happy, and that I will be?

4. stumerr Senior Member

US
    US English
    I don't think what you underlined is subjunctive, is it? Preocupar is the infinitive, so "preocupe" would be the subjunctive, no?

And "apoye" is subjuctive, but "poder" is just the infinitive, I think.

Cheers.

Last edited: Oct 10, 2009
  5. M.TERESA

M.TERESA Senior Member

Spain
    SPANISH-SPAIN
    What is underlined is no subjub¡ntive

me alegra que yo PUEDA contar con Susana
    me preocupa que Paula no APOYE a Marcos

6. la_machy

la_machy Senior Member

Hermosillo, Sonora, México.
    Español de Sonora
    Hola, al.magnus.

Those in blue are not subjuntive.