1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

meanings of the binyanim

Discussion in 'עברית (Hebrew)' started by Requiescat, Aug 30, 2012.

1. Requiescat New Member

English
    Hi,
    I am just starting out learning Hebrew and, as I always do, I have headed straight for the verbs. I am finding this verbal system quite unusual and difficult to grasp. The basic premise is that there are mostly three letter roots, shoresh, which is then applied to a pattern which is the binyan. That much I understand, but the rest is a mystery. There are seven binyanim; pa'al, pi'el, hif'il, hitpa'el, huf'al, pu'al, nif'al. Each binyanim has it's own distinct pattern which is placed onto the shoresh. But what exactly do these binyanim mean? What of tenses, moods, voices and aspects that I find in other languages? It just doesn't make any sense to me. Could someone please flesh out what I already know and clear this up for me? Thanks for your time.

Regards,
    Requiescat

2. tFighterPilot Senior Member

Israel - Hebrew
    I think the root פעל is generally not the best to describe roots for Hebrew lerners, as it contains ע which isn't a consonant in most languages. I'd rather use קטל (ktl).

Now, the structures don't exactly carry a meaning, in most cases. Simply each verb fits one root or the other. One thing that is constant is that niktal is the passive form of katal, kutal is the passive form of kitel and huktal is the passive form of hiktil. Hitkatel has no passive form and thus most verbs which fit it are verbs with no passive form and in most cases describe action that a person does on himself (such as taking a shower).

3. arielipi Senior Member

Israel
    Hebrew
  4. Requiescat New Member

English
    Okay, so each Binyan is a type of mood? With a present, past, future etc tense? So if I was to make a table of this it would be:

Pa'al/Pi'el/Hif'il/Hitpa'el/Huf'al/Pu'al/Nif'al

- Present Tense
    - Past Tense
    - Future Tense

- Imperative