must vs have to [really different?]

Discussion in 'English Only' started by flipside405, Mar 9, 2007.

1. flipside405 Junior Member

English (England)
    Hi,

I'm an EFL teacher and a native speaker. Every few months that old chestnut "must" comes up in a textbook. I'm becoming increasingly convinced that the rule you find in grammar books is a complete load of rubbish.

According to all the books I have seen, "have to" is for general external obligations, that apply to everyone, eg "you have to drive on the left in the UK."

"must" is also defined as an obligation, but used by someone in an authority position, eg a teacher, a parent ("you must turn off your mobile," "you must tidy your room") also it can be used when talking about yourself, eg "i must go to the supermarket"

Personally, I almost always use "have to," and I would define "must" as to give strong advice, not impose an obligation. As I find that students overuse "must," I'm considering not teaching it anymore.

Is this just me? What do you think? (and don't parrot the rule back at me; I know it!)

Thanks

2. MonaArg Senior Member

Argentina-Spanish
    Hello!
    "As I find that students overuse "must," I'm considering not teaching it anymore. "

Count me in! I no longer teach them as such. I just ask students to paraphrase one into the other, especially the negative form of "have to", which tends to be problematic for Spanish speakers.

Bye,

3. Nurja Senior Member

Spain
    Spanish- Spain
    HI Flip,

I'm an English teacher here in Spain and I obviously know the rules but I've heard before what you say.Apparently natives do not use MUST and HAVE TO as books tell us to do. I don't know however if those rules are part of a standard correct English and not part of the everyday language. It's like with the rules that explain the use of the different tenses: do educated natives use them as the rules say? I've experienced that many times you don't do it. And I don't think other "real" uses are wrong.