My "former" lecturer [professor]?

Discussion in 'English Only' started by minigun, May 18, 2011.

1. minigun Junior Member

New Zealand
    Chinese - Mandarine
    I still keep contact with a lecturer from college after I graduated.
    How to refer to her in writting or conversation? My "former" lecturer? I'm not sure if it is right, it sounds strange.
    Thanks.

2. ribran

ribran Senior Member

Austin, Texas
    English - American
    "A former lecturer/professor" is appropriate and idiomatic.

3. Copyright

Copyright Senior Member

Penang
    American English
    It sounds like you want to know how to address her. If so, you simply call her what you've always called her: Dr. Ching, Miss Ching, Ms. Ching, Mrs. Ching, Professor Ching, etc. Then if she would like you to call her something else, I'm sure she'll tell you. (So start with formal first.)

Edit: Seeing ribran's answer and reading your question again, perhaps you want to know how to refer to her in conversation or writing with others -- in which case, I agree with ribran: my former lecturer/professor. Or you can use "Dr. Ching, my former lecturer/professor" and then use Dr. Ching after that.

4. ribran

ribran Senior Member

Austin, Texas
    English - American
    I thought I would add that it is fairly common to refer to all college-level instructors as professors, even if they do not have tenure.

5. minigun Junior Member

New Zealand
    Chinese - Mandarine
    I didn't make it clear in my question, yes I'd like to know how to refer to her in conversation with others, as "I heard about it from my former lecturer".
    But it's good to know how to address her too.
    Thanks you guys.

6. minigun Junior Member

New Zealand
    Chinese - Mandarine
    Is that a convention in America? Good to know.
    I'm in New Zealand, we just address college instructors by their names, even if they are actually professors. They ask students to do that because it sounds more casual.

7. ribran

ribran Senior Member