Na vs Ng

Discussion in 'Tagalog and Filipino Languages' started by verbalphantom, Jan 4, 2010.

1. verbalphantom New Member

English - Canada
    I am quite new to Tagalog, and I've been building my vocab much more than my grammar skills. I understand that na is past tense, but I just get confused when I see something for example... "Isang papel na supot na walang-laman." I do know what the sentance means, but many times in a place where I would personally put "Ng" I see "Na" instead, can someone please help me out on the use of "Na" over "Ng". What does "Na" infer on the sentence that "Ng" doesn't, and visa-versa? Answers are greatly appreciated.

2. DotterKat Moderator

California, USA
    English (American)
    This is a broad topic as "na" and "ng" each function in a number of ways. Based on the sentence you gave, "na" functions as an adjective linker and therefore has no tense. You are confusing "na" as an adverb of time, which is totally different.
    "Ng" would have no place in the sentence at all, unless we add another phrase to your text.

"Isang papel na supot na walang-laman."

First, we have to correct your sentence. It should be: "Isang supot na papel na walang laman."

[Your original text is wrong because what you mean to say is "a bag made of paper (a paper bag)" and not "a paper that is a bag" ---- the mental image may be the same, but you have to agree that the former is a better way of saying it.]

As you know, this means "An empty (adjective) paper (adjective) bag (noun)."

In Tagalog, a linker (na) is needed to link the actual adjective with the modified noun.

A more literal translation of your sentence would be: "One bag (made of) paper (that is) empty.
    In the above sentence, "made of" and "that is" both function as linkers in the same way that "na" does in Tagalog.

We can add "ng" to your sentence in this manner:
    "Binigyan niya ako ng isang supot na papel na walang laman."
    (He/She gave me an empty paper bag.)