Neuter plural = feminine singular (IE languages)

Discussion in 'Etymology, History of languages and Linguistics (EHL)' started by Triginta Septem, Jun 7, 2013.

1. Triginta Septem Junior Member

Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
    English - America
    I just started learning Swedish and I noticed that the neuter plural forms of adjectives (I assume also nouns) usually have the same endings as the singular "common" (a merging of feminine and masculine) adjectives. In Latin, there's the same pattern with -a and -ae feminine endings and -um and -a neuter. In Greek, the same thing exists with feminine nouns and adjectives ending in -a (some others end in -i, though). Also, it basically seems that all neuter forms have a singular that looks like the masculine and a plural that is the same as the feminine singular. In PIE was there some similarity between the forms that made this happen? And where exactly did the neuter even come from? Was it just some sort of merge as it would appear to be?
  2. fdb Senior Member

Cambridge, UK
    French (France)
    Actually, this is a delusion. In ancient IE languages the feminine singular –ā stems end in long –ā (Greek ᾱ or η) in the nom. sg., the neuter plural nom./acc. ends in short –a. Vowel quantity is a distinctive feature in IE.
  3. Triginta Septem Junior Member

Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
    English - America
    Ah. Having learned the little Latin I know without the use of such diacritics, I didn't think of that possibility. I found it interesting that it occurred in Swedish, but I suppose that would be the effect of the same simplification that made most of the other forms identical, then...
  4. Angelo di fuoco Senior Member

Russian & German (GER) bilingual
    I think at least some Slavic languages feature this trait, not for all cases & not consistently, but they do. Not in the state of mind to provide examples right now, sorry.
  5. Dan2

Dan2 Senior Member

US English