1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

ni, niwa

Discussion in '日本語 (Japanese)' started by John_Doe, Mar 31, 2013.

1. John_Doe Senior Member

Kazakhstan
    Russian
    Hello there!

I'm studying "Japanese for Today" and just got stuck on the third lesson. In the grammar section the author gives some pattern sentences like
    So far so good. Then in the reading section you SUDDENLY can see sentences like 'Kono heya niwa doa ga futatsu arimasu'. Apparently something went wrong with either the explanations or the text. I'd like you to explain to me what's going on here )

Thanks in advance.

Last edited: Apr 1, 2013
  2. Tonky Senior Member

Japanese
    The explanation is not that hard, but would like some info to avoid confusions, since you seem to have just started learning.

1) Are you teaching yourself or do you have a teacher/tutor guiding you?
    I would not want to ruin your teacher's plan. Sometimes teachers want you to skip a few complicated parts, and plan to explain in the later sessions for better understanding. Many times, teachers are prepared with a later session or two to explain things to you, saying like, "Do you remember this sentence from the earlier lesson? Now the mystery is solved!"
    (Of course, if this niwa haunts you too much and cannot get past without knowing it, then you may need to hear it anyways.)

2) If that is "Japanese for Today; あたらしい日本語" published in the early 70s, I believe it has grammar explanations in English. What does it say there? No mentions of niwa at all? (I've heard of that textbook, but never checked the contents.)

3. John_Doe Senior Member

Kazakhstan
    Russian
    For the time being, I'm studying without a teacher.
    Yes, it is titled so, however the textbook was published, as far as I know, in 1992, not in the bygone '70s )
    The author explains the topic marker 'wa' (in the very first lesson), the particle 'ni', but there are no explanations of them being together.