1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

Nolite te bastardes carborundorum

Discussion in 'Lingua Latina (Latin)' started by fragilistic, May 2, 2007.

1. fragilistic Junior Member

USA, English
    I just started learning Latin six months ago, so I don't really know what this means: nolite te bastardes carborundorum. There is no context, it's from a book I'm reading, and the main character found it written on the wall of her room. I know the the first word is the plural imperative of nolo, nolle, nolui. The last word maybe is genitive. Anyway, I was wondering what this translated to. Does anyone know?

2. judkinsc

judkinsc Senior Member

Indiana
    English, USA
    "Carborundum," which should be the root of "Carborundorum" doesn't exist in Latin as far as I know. "Nolite" would be "Don't [plural)." "Te bastardes" would be "you bastard," in the vocative.

The plural "nolite" can't modify "te," which is a singular, so the phrase by itself doesn't make sense.

Don't [plural], "you bastard" (singular), of carborundum(s) [The Latin plural would be "-a" for neuter, but no matter here.]

It doesn't make any sense.

3. Whodunit

Whodunit Senior Member

กรุงเทพมหานคร
    Deutschland ~ Deutsch/Sächsisch
    This should help you.

The phrase is not correct Latin, so it doesn't make much sense to translate it. However, it is intended to mean "Don't let the bastards wear you down," carborundorum being an artificial gerund of carbon and corundum.

4. jazyk Senior Member

Brno, Česká republika
    Brazílie, portugalština
    Tu bastarde (no s) would be you bastard in the vocative.

Jazyk

5. judkinsc

judkinsc Senior Member

Indiana
    English, USA

Good point.

6. Whodunit

Whodunit Senior Member

กรุงเทพมหานคร
    Yes, but looking at the translation, that's not what was meant. Both "te" and "bastardes" are meant to be accusative objects being independent from each other.

Don't let (Nolite) the bastards (bastardes) wear you (te) down.