null initial with glottal stop

Discussion in '中文+方言 (Chinese)' started by syowangza, Mar 23, 2013.

1. syowangza New Member

I've been studying mandarin phonology for a few years and there's one question that I haven't been able to answer just by looking it up.
    Does a word that begins with a null initial (i.e. a word that doesn't begin with a consonant) is it always pronounced with a glottal stop before it?

Listening to music and people speaking I'm guessing that the glottal stop doesn't occur for words that start with "y" /j/ or "w" /w/, or if the preceding word ends with "ng" /
    However I'm confused if the presence of a glottal stop is affected by other endings preceding it such as:

1.) "深爱" vs "畲耐"
    2.) "代傲" vs "带药"
    3.) "到爱" vs "到外"

Can somebody here please help clear this up for me?
  2. Skatinginbc

Skatinginbc Senior Member

Mandarin 國語
    Not always. Idiosyncratic variances and dialectal variances are great. Internal inconsistency within an individual's speech exists as well. You may need to approach it from a statistical or probability perspective rather than a Yes/No question and to consider factors such as casual vs. conscious speech, monosyllabic vs. disyllabic words, etc. In general, there is a greater possibility for a glottal insertion when the syllable is focused and when the word starts with /a/ or /o/.
    Um, all I can say is that 平安 can be pronounced [pʰjəŋ.ˀan], [pʰjəŋ.an], or [pʰjəŋ.ŋan] by some depending on a lot of factors. But you are correct: It is less likely to occur in those environments.