1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

Order of a sentence

Discussion in 'Deutsch (German)' started by Everybody lies, Jun 28, 2013.

1. Everybody lies

Everybody lies Senior Member

Hallo!

I'm still starting to learn German. In the book I'm learning with it is said this structure: Adv + verb + subj + compl. Eg: "In zwei Monaten beginnt meine Arbeit in Deutschland", and it says that the order of the subject and the verb is changed. So, I don't know if it is referred only to those cases where I want the adverb to go at the beginning (and I also can say "Meine Arbeit beginnt in Deutschland in zwei Monaten") ; or it means that if I want to use an adverb, I must put it at the beginning.

Is my doubt clear?

PD: Also, I don't know exactly what it's referred with "adverb", because "in two months" is not an adverb.

Thanks in advance.

2. Frank78

Frank78 Senior Member

Saxony-Anhalt
    German
    The expression of time (Temporaladverben) can take two positions:

1, Beginning of the sentence as in your example:
    "In zwei Monaten beginnt meine Arbeit in Deutschland" - here you have to remember that the verb must occupy the second position in the sentence and therefore the subject comes after the verb

2. Between verb and object
    "Meine neue Arbeit in Deutschland beginnt in zwei Monaten" - bad example since we don't have an object :D
    or:
    "Meine neue Arbeit beginnt in zwei Monaten in Deutschland" - time always BEFORE place

If you say the latter sentence then I would assume you move on to the next county later.

3. Everybody lies

OK! Thank you very much. That was very clear.

4. Gernot Back

Gernot Back Senior Member

Cologne, Germany
    German - Germany
    Any phrase, not only adverbials can go to the first position (the pre-field) of a declarative main clause in German. If the subject is not in the first place, it takes the first place after the finite (conjugated) verb (i.e. the third position)!