1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

Order of the Polish adjective

Discussion in 'Polski (Polish)' started by Odriski, Jun 28, 2014.

1. Odriski Senior Member

Chinese
    Hello everyone here!
    I am just a beginner of Polish. The biggest problem in Polish is the order of the adjective. I've read a rule for Polish adjective, it says: when the adjectives are qualitative adjectives, then they should be in the front of the nouns to be modified, eg: sladka woda, piękne państwo. But if type-adjectives, they should be behind the nouns, eg. język chińsky, republika narodowa
    Then I follow this rule and search some examples to see if this rule is correct, but I found the examples do not always follow this rule. Take chińsky as the example:
    władze chińskie Chinese authorities
    obywatel chiński Chinese citizens
    język chińsky Chinese language

Ale!

chińska kandydatka Chinese candidate
    chińska dziewczyna Chinese girl
    chiński smok Chinese dragon
    chińskie towary Chinese goods

Can someone explain me the rule for the order of the Polish adjectives? As the above case confuses me very much! I am expecting a detailed explanation for the order of the Polish adjective, the more detailed, the better. And please could you explain in English(Czech is also OK as I am also an advanced learner of Czech)?

Many Thanks and Best Regards

Odriski

2. jr123 New Member

Polish
    Hi!
    Indeed, in most cases we put the adjective before the noun. It's definitely much more difficult to determine the rules of the adjective's position in the statement than
    e.g. in English. The sequence adjective-noun is used to describe an interim stage (a temporary quality) of somebody or something or when we don't want to emphasize particularly the feature .