pédé / PD / pédéraste

Discussion in 'French-English Vocabulary / Vocabulaire Français-Anglais' started by nickbuddy, Sep 27, 2007.

1. nickbuddy Junior Member

OH, USA
    English (Japanese)
    Moderator Note: several threads on pédé / pédéraste / PD have been merged into this one.

Bonjour
    !
    :)

I was watching the French movie called "The Man I Love (L'Homme que j'aime)", and there is a scene where a main character Lucard (a life guard at the pool) asks Martin if he's gay.

To me, it sounded like
    "Te-pe-de??"
    I know it's wrong to "out" somebody, and this might not be an appropriate question, but I am curious how the French people say it, or even how to write out correctly.

If you could help, I'd totally appreciate it.
    If you need a context, it goes like this (PS: Sorry about my misspelling in advance. I'm not really good at French....);
    Lucard: "Je peux ta pose un dernier question. Ton respond ah.."
    Martin: "Ce quoi la question?"
    Lucard: "TE-PE-DE?? (???)"
    Thanks for your help in advance!:D

Last edited by a moderator: May 17, 2009
  2. Broff Senior Member

Maryland
    French
    I believe it is written as follow:

T'es Pédé?

3. Kelly B

Kelly B Senior Member

USA English
    I'm not a native, but I think that this shortened version is t'es (un) pédé ?
    The longer version would be
    Tu es un pédéraste ?

4. david314

david314 Senior Member

Clayton, Missouri
    American English
    Perhaps: Tu es pédé? (pejorative -queer, fag)

5. sHak. Senior Member

That's it!

Unformal way of saying homosexual.

Would be the english way of saying "Are you gay?"

6. nickbuddy Junior Member

OH, USA
    English (Japanese)
    Wow, Merci beaucoup tout le monde pour respondre rapidamente!!!! :)

I'd really appreciate it!

7. chumoé Junior Member

Montréal, QC, Canada
    English - Canada
    pédé, tapette, fifi, gay, homo; they're all words (some offensive) to describe a homosexual male.

8. tres_gay New Member

OR, US
    USA, English