1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

Passive voice with essere or venire

Discussion in 'Italian-English' started by swinginscot, Jan 31, 2007.

1. swinginscot Senior Member

English, UK/US
    Ciao a tutti,
    I recently started learning about the passive voice and am a little confused when to use essere or venire. I know that venire can only be used with with simple tenses but still don't understand if there are specific cases to use one or the other or if they are interchangeable. Per esempio:

Active voice: Ogni anno molti turisti visitano Venezia.
    Passive voice: Ogni anno Venezia e' visitata da molti turisti (this makes sense to me)
    BUT: my book also showed this as an example of passive voice:
    Ogni anno Venezia viene visitata da molti touristi. (viene seems weird here to me)

Are both of these acceptable ways to say it or do they mean something slightly different? Is there a way to know whether it is better to use essere or venire or just based on personal preference with no difference?

Grazie mille :)

2. irene.acler Senior Member

Trento - Italy
    Italiano
    Hi!
    Both sentences are perfect in Italian.
    The passive voice can be formed with essere and also with venire, but there's not a difference in meaning.
    I think that there's not a way to know when to use one verb or the other, maybe it just depends on personal preference.

Hope it helps.

3. SvenKr Junior Member

Copenhagen, Denmark
    Italian, Italy
    I was told a few times that the passive construction with essere is more correct, even if venire is more used, especially in conversational Italian.

4. swinginscot Senior Member

English, UK/US
    tante grazie per l'aiuto. A me, essere suona meglio cosi' forse lo usero' piu'.

5. MünchnerFax

MünchnerFax Senior Member

Germany
    Italian, Italy