Potential link between Japanese and Turkish?

Discussion in 'Etymology, History of languages and Linguistics (EHL)' started by COF, Nov 6, 2008.

1. COF Junior Member

English - Wales
    In the past I've heard of theory that suggests that Japanese and Turkish, along with Korean and possibly a couple of other languages belong to the same group. I believe the group was named Altaic. Do you think there's anything in this or do you feel this is just some nutty hypothesis with nothing really to support it other than a handful of words with the same meaning that broadly resemble each other?

I'm no language expert, but when I've seen Romanized Japanese sentences, and Turkish sentences I can't help but think there is a bit of a similarity, both seem to have very distant similarities. Both are agglutinative languages (although many languages are, that's not really saying much), and there are quite a few words which look similar and have the same, or similar meanings in both languages.

However, the sheer geographic distance between the 2 regions makes me wonder if it's even possible.

Thanks for any insight into this topic.
  2. Frank06

Frank06 Senior Member

Nederlands / Dutch (Belgium)
    The so-called Altaic language family counts 66 languages, spoken by almost 350 million people. That's not my understanding of 'a couple of other languages' ;-).
    Anyway, we already have a thread about Altaic languages and the English Wikipedia article is a fairly good introduction.

Could you please give a few examples?

I don't think distance is an issue here.

Last edited: Nov 6, 2008
  3. OBrasilo

OBrasilo Senior Member

Koper, Slovenia, Central Europe
    Brazil, Brazilian Portuguese