Pronunciation of א, ע and yi

Discussion in 'עברית (Hebrew)' started by Lazar Taxon, Feb 3, 2014.

1. Lazar Taxon New Member

Englih - US
    Hi! I'm a beginner, and I have some questions about the standard pronunciation of Israeli Hebrew:

1. To what extent, if any, should I pronounce א and ע? I don't mean to ask about the traditional Semitic pronunciation, but about whether they should be articulated at all or left silent. To divide this into different questions:

- For medial instances, should I regularly pronounce a word like זאב as [zeˈʔev], or just as [zeˈev]?

- For final instances, should I pronounce שמע and ברא as [ʃmaʔ], [baˈʁaʔ], using a word-final glottal stop like you would find in Cockney, or just as [ʃma], [baˈʁa]?

- For initial instances, should I pronounce a phrase like איש אשכולות as [ˈiʃ ʔeʃkoˈlot], with a German-style word-initial glottal stop, or just as [ˈiʃ eʃkoˈlot]?

2. Should I pronounce "yi" as [ji], or just as ? For example, should ישראל start off with [jis…] or with [is…]?

Last edited: Feb 3, 2014
  2. origumi Senior Member

Hebrew
    א as a glottal stop: native Israelis would have hard time trying to understand what you mean. It all sound the same. Omitting the glottal stop altogether is good. And yet: זאב is ze-ev, not zev.
    א vs. ע: for some Israelis ע becomes almost identical to א, therefore same answer. For other ע is a different consonant.
    Yi as in Israel: most Israelis omit the initial y sound. Few do maintain this feature.

3. airelibre

airelibre Senior Member

English - London
    I believe yi at the start of the word is pronounced [ji] but with a much weaker [j] sound than in English. So somewhere between Yisra'el and Isra'el. I think this because yitpa'el and hitpa'el do not sound exactly the same, despite the fact that the pronunciation of [h] in modern Hebrew is very weak and in cases non-existent.

4. arielipi Senior Member

Israel
    Hebrew