1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

question involving word order.

Discussion in 'Deutsch (German)' started by vinyljunkie619, Feb 14, 2013.

1. vinyljunkie619 Senior Member

so-cal
    algerian arabic/american english
    so, i have been learning german for a few months now; and although the vocabulary is quite easy to learn, i have a confidence issue with word order....
    i want to say "i know that i should try to sleep, but..."
    would it be "ich weiß daß ich versuchen zu schlafen soll, aber..."
    or
    "ich weiß daß ich soll versuchen zu schlafen, aber..." ?

-thanks

2. Gernot Back

Gernot Back Senior Member

Cologne, Germany
    German - Germany
    Ich weiß, dass ich versuchen sollte zu schlafen.
    or:

Ich weiß, dass ich zu schlafen versuchen sollte.

Zu schlafen is an infinitive clause containing nothing but the infinitive schlafen and the conjunction zu. There are no further arguments/complements/objects depending from this verb. That is why you can put it both in the middle field and the post field of the main sentence. The more complex an infinitive clause is, the better style it is to exbraciate an infinitive clause, though.

http://www.canoo.net/services/Onlin...ungsfeld/Nachfeld.html#Anchor-Infinitiv-11481

• Ich sollte zu schlafen versuchen.:tick:
    • Ich sollte versuchen zu schlafen.:tick:
    • Ich sollte versuchen, sontagmorgens beim Nachhausekommen aus der Disko nicht immer alle meine Hausnachbarn aufzuwecken.:tick:
    • *Ich sollte, sontagmorgens beim Nachhausekommen aus der Disko nicht immer alle meine Hausnachbarn aufzuwecken, versuchen.:cross:

In these four examples the infinitive clauses are all first-degree subordinate clauses within an independent clause.
    Your examples are even more complex. Here the infinitive clause is a second-degree subordinate clause within a first-degree subordinate clause within an independant clause.