Quiero que compres, les dice que

Discussion in 'Spanish-English Grammar / Gramática Español-Inglés' started by Ethandanial, Dec 6, 2012.

1. Ethandanial New Member

I just started learning about the subjunctive......I have quite a few questions about it already but I got a few things I need clarification on.

I want you to buy something = quiero que compres algo.

He tells them to study = les dice que estudien.

I don't understand why the second sentence has to take the "les." These two sentences appear to have very similar structure in English yet very much different in Spanish. Why aren't these sentences set up one set way.......either both with or without the pronoun. ( ie. dice que estudien. Quiero que compres algo.) or ( les dice que estudien. Te quiro que compres algo.). So.....could somone explain why these require different grammatical structure

Could explanations be in English as I am reletively new to the language and can't always fully grasp what is being said on some of the forums.
  2. Milton Sand

Milton Sand Modómano, 'mano

Bucaramanga, Colombia
    Español (Colombia)
    Maybe it's just how the verbs are functioning in your examples; subjunctive is not the reason for sure. Let me make your examples more similar:

I want them to buy something. = [Yo] quiero que [ellos] compren algo. —> Literally: I want that they buy something.
    —> "Querer" is transitive; the direct object is a substantive clause marked by the "que," there's no indirect object. "Ellos" is the subject for the subordinate/substantive clause, not a complement to the main verb.

I tell them to buy something. = [Yo] les digo [a ellos] que [ellos] compren algo. —> Literally: I say to them that they buy something.
    —>Transitive "decir" takes the said thing as a D.O. ("que estudien," the subordinate/substantive clause), and as I.O. the [receiver] recipient of the message ("les, a ellos"). Again, the subordinate clause has "ellos" as the subject of "compren".

Last edited: Dec 6, 2012