Relance dossier de candidature

Discussion in 'French-English Vocabulary / Vocabulaire Français-Anglais' started by Aude92, May 27, 2011.

1. Aude92 New Member

Hello everyone,

I'm a student in a business school and I need to find an internship abroad for next year.. So I have sent a few applications to american companies but I don't really know how to "relancer" the companies.
    Here is what I have thought of :

"Dear Sir or Madame,
    I am contacting you again as I have no answer from you so far.
    I am very interested in carrying out my 5 months internship in you company and I would be delighted if you could return my mail about my application."

Could you tell me if it's a good "relance" ? By the way how do you say "relance" in english ?

Thank you in advance ! :)

2. gwencpt Member

South Africa
    Je ne suis pas certaine qu'il y ait de traduction littérale de "relancer"... Je pense qu'il faut une traduction moins littérale de ce que tu as fait... A voir ce que disent les natives...

My attempt:

Dear Sir, Dear Madam

As I haven't heard back from you yet, I take this opportunity to once again express my interest in completing a 5-months internship within your company. Could you please get back to me regarding my application at your earliest convenience?

Kind regards
  3. carog Senior Member

England - Hampshire
    French - France
    I think I'd say a "follow-up letter".
  4. Aude92 New Member

Super, merci beaucoup pour vos réponses rapides !

Bonne journée :)
  5. misterk Moderator

Dear Sir, Dear Madame:

As a follow-up to my letter of [date], I am writing to reaffirm my interest in doing a five-month internship at [name of company]. I look forward to hearing from you at your earliest convenience.

Kind regards
  6. Aude92 New Member

Oh by the way, I got a voice mail from the US but I couldn't listen to it :(