Rok, Lat

Discussion in 'Polski (Polish)' started by franknagy, Sep 1, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. franknagy Senior Member

Is the Polish rule for Rok and Lat the same as the Russian one for 1 год, 2-4 года, 5-20 лет?

2. Ral.G Senior Member

Polish
    I have no knowledge of Russian whatsoever, but it does seem that way.

Or maybe not exactly? I've no idea how you say 21, 31, 41, etc. years in Russian. In Polish you include it in "lat":

1 rok, 2-4 lata, 5-21 lat, 22-24 lata, 25-31 lat, 32-34 lata, ...

3. marco_2 Senior Member

Poland
    Polish
    So, in Polish rok apears only after a separate 1: jeden rok, after eg 21 we say: dwadzieścia jeden lat (the Russians say двадцать один год)

4. Thomas1

Thomas1 Senior Member

polszczyzna warszawska
    :idea: Only if you use 'rok' with ordinal numbers, it always keeps its form:
    Jest na drugim roku studiów. -- He's in his second year at university.
    1982/2013 rok -- Year 1982/2013
    etc.

5. franknagy Senior Member

Thank you for the answers.
    Very interesting similarity and dissimilarity of Polish and Russian rules.

1 год, 2-4 года, 5-20 лет, 21 год, 22-24 года, 25-30 лет, 31 год, 32-34 года.

But how has fallen
    into both soups instead of "year" after certain numerals?

Regards
    Frank

6. marco_2 Senior Member

Poland
    Polish
    You can found lieto = year even in Old-Church-Slavonic so it is a pretty old phenomenon. It is interesting that in many Polish dialects people also used the noun wiosna (spring) meaning year (Ile sobie liczysz wiosen? = How old are you? - literally How many springs do you count / have you survived?)

7. Ben Jamin Senior Member

Norway
    Polish
    Not the same.
    In Polish it is 1 rok, 2 lata, 3 lata, 4 lata, 5 lat, all higher numbers xx lat, except those ending in 2, 3 or 4 (two different words, two different cases)