Si amas algo, déjalo libre. Si vuelve es tuyo, si no, nunca lo fue

Discussion in 'Spanish-English Vocabulary / Vocabulario Español-Inglés' started by BichoMalo, May 7, 2008.

1. BichoMalo New Member

Hello, this is my first post but i have been consulting Wordreference for more than two years.

I would like to find a correct translation for this popular phrase:

"Si amas algo, déjalo libre. Si vuelve es tuyo, si no, nunca lo fue"

Thank you :)
  2. tatis Senior Member

Spanish, México
    If you love something, set it free; if it comes back it's yours, if it doesn't, it never was.

Bienvenido al foro :)!
    Last edited: May 7, 2008
  3. BichoMalo New Member

Thank you!

4. franmadrid Senior Member

spanish madrid
    This thread reminds me of something quite funny I once heard:

"If you love somebody, let them go. If they don´t come back, hunt them down and shoot them" :D :D :D
  5. Cared Member

Mexico español
    Very funny saying franmadrid, that's what we should do with that bunch of....hehehe
  6. mlj Senior Member

Can i say?
    If you love someone LET IT FREE..if it returns is your, it doesn't never was your.

I appreciate any correction.

Thanks in advance!
  7. Bilma Senior Member

Spanish Mexico
  8. ajo fresco

ajo fresco Senior Member

Hola mlj,

You're almost there!

You can say:

If you love someone, set them free. If they return, they're yours; if they don't, they never were. (I used "them" and "they" because we're speaking in general about both men and women.)

Saludos :)
  9. mlj Senior Member

Thanks, but I have two questions:
    1- Why did you put "if they return" if you started the sentence say "if you love someone" ?? Is "someone" plural in this case?