Socrates' quote about knowing

Discussion in 'Ελληνικά (Greek)' started by yad-yad, Jun 18, 2007.

1. yad-yad New Member

Russian
    Good Day Everyone!
    My best favourite philosophic quote is the one by Socrates: "I know that I don't know anything, but the others don't even know that". In my research I have encountered many different versions of this saying which are attributed to: a) the fact that quite a few different people attempted to do the translation, and b) the fact that Socrates never wrote anything down himself and all we know about him is mostly from Plato and somewhat Xenophon. So, I was just wondering if anyone knows the original of this saying in Attic Greek language. Appreciate any help. Thank You!
    Cheers,
    yad-yad.
    P.S. The quote above is just another translation and I do not imply it is in its original form. Moreover this is what I need some help with - finding "the original" of this saying in the original language. I am not an expert in this field what so ever, thus any any info is much much appreciated.

2. modus.irrealis Senior Member

Toronto
    English, Canada
    Hi,

I haven't looked too much into this but I think this is one of those sayings that could have a number of sources. There's a passage by Diogenes Laertius where he lists, among the things that Socrates used to say,

εἰδέναι μὲν μηδὲν πλὴν αὐτὸ τοῦτο εἰδέναι
    that he knew nothing except that he knew that very fact [i.e. that he knew nothing]

Closer to your quote, there's a passage in Plato's Apology, where Socrates says that after discussing with someone he started thinking that

τούτου μὲν τοῦ ἀνθρώπου ἐγὼ σοφώτερός εἰμι· κινδυνεύει μὲν γὰρ ἡμῶν οὐδέτερος οὐδὲν καλὸν κἀγαθὸν εἰδέναι, ἀλλ' οὗτος μὲν οἴεται τι εἰδέναι οὐκ εἰδώς, ἐγὼ δέ, ὥσπερ οὖν οὐκ οἶδα, οὐδὲ οὄιμαι· ἔοικα γοῦν τούτου γε σμικρῷ τινι αὐτῷ τούτῳ σοφώτερος εἶναι, ὅτι ἃ μή οἶδα οὐδὲ οἴομαι εἰδέναι

Which copying the translation from here is