1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

Stammi bene

Discussion in 'Italian-English' started by mypigtail, Jul 16, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mypigtail New Member

shanghai China
    china and chinese
    does it mean" i am all right" or "do be all right for me"?
    I am a beginner and thank u for your help:)

2. Jana337

Jana337 Senior Member

čeština
    Hello,

welcome to the forums! :)

It means "take care" and you use it in letters or when saying goodbye to friends.
    The infinitive is "stare". From a purely logical point of view, the imperative "stai bene" sounds better to foreigners' ears.

Jana

3. islandspaniels

islandspaniels Junior Member

Seattle
    USA English
    Seems to be an informal way of saying" take care". you could also use "in gamba" to say the same thing..more formally I am told to use "si riguardi"
    I've asked the same question on the forum previously...my grandmother
    used "aver cura", but I don't know if that is correct :)
    Stammi bene ;)

4. mypigtail New Member

shanghai China
    china and chinese
    Capito e grazie mille!
    By the way,my aunt use "baci" at the end of the massage she sends me,it means "kiss"yes? I just wonder in what situation or to what kind of people it can be used?
    Grazie:)

5. islandspaniels

Seattle
    USA English
    mypigtail :) riguardo a "baci"
    I have received several EMails from friends ( all female) ending with "un bacio") also "abbraccio"..I feel both are affectionate ways of saying good bye or even take care..In english we use "fondly" also to express the same thing.
    tanti auguri

6. Silvia B

Silvia B Senior Member

Italy - Italian
    My pigtail, just a few notes:

"aver cura" is a correct verb, you should say:
    "abbia cura di se stesso" (very formal)
    "abbi cura di te" (informal but not very used)

I would say that both are better used in written language recently..
    Or you can hear it in some films.