1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

Stress in Hungarian words

Discussion in 'Magyar (Hungarian)' started by jiris, Mar 21, 2014.

1. jiris Junior Member

English – American
    Hello, all. I'm just beginning to learn hungarian, and am a little confused as to where stress is placed in a word. All sources tell me that stress is almost always placed on the first sylable of a word, but there are many instances in which I hear it to be otherwise.

For example, I started doing the hungarian pimsleurs, and in the first lessons the word "beszélek" is clearly stressed on the "é".

Another example, on the website forvo, the audio file for word "mosolygok" is also stressed on the second syllable.

Could anyone give me a hint as to what is going on?

Many Thanks––

2. Zsanna

Zsanna ModErrata

Hungary
    Hungarian - Hungary
    Hello jiris and welcome to our forum:)

Well, I am not an expert but I think the first problem may be to get used to all the bits that can influence our pronunciation.
    The stress is on the first syllable - that you can take as a rule.

However, a long vowel (like the "é" in beszélek) may give the impresssion as if there were a stress on it but it is not the case: it is just pronounced longer. You will have to get used to making the difference between stress and length. (It may not be easy!:()

Mosolygok also has the stress on the first syllable but the 2nd syllable is pronounced longer (but without a stress like on the 1st again), probably because of the meeting of "ly+g", i.e. exactly these two consonants. (It is not always the case when two consonants meet.)

My guess is that maybe we "take our time" to pronounce these two consonants (ly+g) "properly"/fully. (Hungarian doesn't like the accumulation of consonants, by the way, in general.) It may well be that the forming (= pronouncing) these two consonants doesn't allow a comfortable "flow" in the pronounciation that could shorter the time we take to do it.