study / studying [University, college, school]

Discussion in 'English Only' started by vincix, Oct 2, 2013.

1. vincix Senior Member

Can anyone tell me the difference between:

I am studying at the college / study at college?

I know that they usually say "I go to University" when you refer to being enrolled in their courses. And I've come across present continuous "I am studying at the college" and I don't really understand why that happens. Another well known example that I know of is "I go to school" meaning, again, that I'm enrolled in their class. So how does the difference function here?

2. ESustad Senior Member

Washington, DC
    English - (Minnesota)
    "I'm in college" is most common.

"School" is the most general term. Universities are collections of more than one college, which is American English for the Latinate "faculty." Not all colleges are part of a university.
  3. vincix Senior Member

I am sorry, I must not have been specific enough. What I'm mostly interested in is the difference between present simple and present continuous. If that, in turn, entails a distinction as far as the type of educational institution is concerned, then I'm interested in knowing it.
  4. Mahantongo

Mahantongo Senior Member

English (U.S.)
    While it would be grammatical to say either "I am studying at the college", or "I study at the college", in American English both sentences would be odd and unnatural. Speakers of American English simply do not use the word "study" this way. We say we go to a school, or attend a school, but it is not common, natural language to say we study at/are studying at a school.
  5. vincix Senior Member