Swedish: word order and "där"

Discussion in 'Nordic Languages' started by Jellby, Jun 7, 2013.

1. Jellby

Jellby Senior Member

Spanish (Spain)
    Hello all,

I just started learning Swedish and, my teacher corrected something like this:

(1) "Jag cyklar till laboratoriet, där arbetar jag."

to:

(2) "Jag cyklar till laboratoriet, där jag arbetar."

From what I have read (we haven't seen that in class yet), the second would mean "... to the laboratory where I work". But, if I wanted to say "... to the laboratory, there I work", would the first be correct? Does it look weird? Should I maybe have used a fullstop instead of comma?

2. JohanIII

JohanIII Senior Member

Switzerland
    Swedish
    "... to the laboratory, there I work" = "... till laboratoriet, där arbetar jag." - that's a good translation.
    But they are both equally weird.
    It would certainly make it better with a full stop for the Swedish, but I wouldn't say it like that (the sentences feel too short).

As the English is incorrect, try writing what you want to say in Spanish instead.

3. AutumnOwl

AutumnOwl Senior Member

Sweden
    Swedish - Sweden, Finnish
    This word order is correct, but not with the , as Swedish uses the comma seldom. It does mean "... to the laboratory, there I work", as där can be used for both where and there.
    This is the only situation where I would use the inverted arbetar jag (except in questions), to describe how or what kind of work I do , even if it's more common today to use "... laboratoriet där jag arbetar dagen lång/..." (without the comma).

4. zyzzy

zyzzy Senior Member

Swedish
    You are either using incorrect punctuation or incorrect word order.

If you want to say "... to the laboratory" and "there, I work", then those are two separate main clauses that could be joined together like this:

... till laboratoriet. Där arbetar jag.
    ... till laboratoriet och där arbetar jag.
    ... till laboratoriet; där arbetar jag. (a bit formal)