the league of "egészségedre"

Discussion in 'Magyar (Hungarian)' started by folran, Sep 3, 2013.

1. folran New Member

Bernese German
    Hi all

So what I'm looking for is a translation of "the league of 'cheers'", with "cheers" being translated as "egészségedre".

Possibly needed additional information: "league" is to be understood as a league in sports.

Thank you

P.S.: I have no knowledge of Hungarian at all. I would've tried to make a rough translation, but since it's agglutinative and egészségedre is an interjection, I had no idea how one would do that.

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 3, 2013
  2. Olivier0 Senior Member

Toulouse
    français - France
    "koccintók ligája" ? :) - league of those who drink a toast (clink glasses)
    -- Olivier

3. Zsanna

Zsanna ModErrata

Hungary
    Hungarian - Hungary
    I am maybe a bit slow but what does "the league of cheers" mean?
    And why do you think that cheers should be translated by "egészségedre" here? (Cheers can be translated like this when used to indicate what people say to each other when lifting their glass to drink. However, in the above expression it doesn't seem to me to be the case...)

4. folran New Member

Bernese German
    Good question. The reason why I'm being so specific is because it's sort of an inside joke involving the expression "egészségedre". That's also why I didn't write "the league of cheers" but "the league of 'cheers'", cheers being a fixed expression in English as well (I am not referring to cheers as a plural of 'cheer').

I hope what I'm trying to explain makes sense...

5. Zsanna

Zsanna ModErrata

Hungary
    Hungarian - Hungary
    I'm sorry, I still don't understand.
    E.g. What is cheers with an apostrophe before it? (In what way is it different from the same without?)

6. folran New Member

Bernese German
    Let me format this a bit differently then:

The League of "Cheers!"

and not

The League of Cheers