1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

The sash to his cape (preposition "to")

Discussion in 'Spanish-English Grammar / Gramática Español-Inglés' started by gothicpartner, Feb 4, 2013.

1. gothicpartner

gothicpartner Senior Member

Bruges
    Spanish
    Hi everyone

I'm studying some new meanings of the preposition "TO" to me, but I got stucked on understaning certain definitions.
    Here is a list of those confusing concepts:

1) to prep (of, belonging to, for) de prep
    The sash to his cape was red. El cinturón de su capa era rojo.
    Why not "The sash OF his cape was red."?.
    In my opinion, as a native spanish speaker, Of WOULD sound way better, since it fits well in the simply rule that "OF" possessive should always be used with non-living things as in The legs of the table (the table is non-living -> use of), the windows of the mouse, etc.

Assistant to the manager= asistente del gerente. Why not " Assistant of the manager"? . Same above!

The Amazon is home to birds and lions= El Amazonas es casa para pájaros y leones. Why not "The Amazon is home for birds and lions"?. Why not 'The Amazon is birds' and lions' home? ( The 's possessive should always be used for animals or personified concepts.) Any difference?. they seems synonymous. I can't differentiate them.

The secret to his success is his attention to detail.= El secreto de su éxito es su atención al detalle. Why not The secret of his success is attention to detail?

The key to the front door= La llave de la puerta principal.
    Why not " the key of the front door" . Same above. "OF" possessive should always be used with non-living things

the heir to the throne= El heredero al trono. Why not "Throne's heir"

2) to prep (indicating relationship) del prep
    He says he's a third cousin to the president. Why not " He says he's a third cousin to the president as in (the example) "the wife of my best friend" (possesive usage), la mujer de mi mejor amigo.