1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

thickened cream

Discussion in 'English Only' started by Gioiosa, Dec 30, 2008.

1. Gioiosa

Gioiosa New Member

USA
    Italian
    Is thickened cream the UK's version of heavy whipping cream or is it clotted cream?

2. Thomas Tompion Senior Member

Southwest France
    English - England
    Hello Gioiosa, and welcome to the forum,

A number of members are quite hot on cooking methods and ingredients, so I'm surprised you've had to wait for an answer.

I'm an expert on creams in France, but not in the UK. People in the UK talk of single cream, which is thin, double cream, which is thick but not thick enough to stand a teaspoon, and clotted cream which is thick enough to stand a teaspoon. Whipping cream is very runny before it's whipped, thinner maybe than single cream. I've never seen thickened cream on sale, or heard it spoken of as a cooking ingredient. I would take it to be cream which had been thickened by whipping. Have you come across it in an English recipe? A bit of context might help. It usually does.

The English have taken to using crème fraîche, which is a form of mildly sour treated cream which can be boiled without curdling; obviously this is handy in cooking. I expect you have it in Italy. The English for it is crème fraîche.

Last edited: Dec 30, 2008
  3. Redshade Senior Member

UK
    English.
    Hi.
    In the UK single cream contains 18% fat ,
    whipped cream 35%,
    double cream 48% and clotted cream 55%.
    (I just sneaked alook at the Jamie Oliver website.)

4. panjandrum

panjandrum PongoMod

Belfast, Ireland
    English-Ireland (top end)
    As I don't know what Gioiosa means by thickened cream I really shouldn't be answering :)
    But there are some existing threads that have discussed the differing terminologies for cream around the world. For example:
    "fresh whipped cream"
    Hmmm - I thought there were more :)

5. panjandrum

panjandrum PongoMod